South Africans invited to apply for new Erasmus Mundus Action 2 programme EU-SATURN

Applications are now open.
EU-SATURN is an EU-funded mobility programme, that envisages the mobility of a total of 82 South African students and researchers (master, PhD and staff) in the period 2013-2016.
Selected South African applicants will receive a full scholarship for a period of study/research at one of the EU partners. After completing their stay in Europe, the grantees will return to South Africa in order to use their newly acquired knowledge to the advancement of the country and become the ambassadors of an international education.
The EU-SATURN coordination is in the hands of the University of Groningen, the Netherlands, together with the University of the Free State as the South African co-coordinator. They lead a consortium of a total of 16 HEIs in Europe and South Africa:
University of Groningen, the Netherlands
Georg-August-University Goettingen, Germany
Ghent University, Belgium
Newcastle University, United Kingdom
Uppsala University, Sweden
University of Valencia, Spain
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland

South Africa
University of the Free State
Stellenbosch University
Tshwane University of Technology
University of Cape Town
University of Fort Hare
University of Johannesburg
University of Limpopo
University of the Western Cape
University of the Witwatersrand
In addition to students and staff from the above South African partners, a limited number of scholarships is also available for South African nationals registered at or graduated from other institutions.
Some relevant links:
• EU-SATURN website:
• Facebook:
• E-mail:
The first call for applications for the first cohort of master and PhD students to start in 2013 is currently open until 15 January 2013. Applications should be done online via the EU-SATURN website.