Last updated: 19 August 2012


Government expressed its dismay and is saddened by the developments at the Lonmin Marikana mine in the North West which has claimed lives of citizens and police officers. We offer our sincere condolences to all families who have lost their loved ones. We wish those who have been injured a speedy recovery.

Government emphasised that we are a country with one of the best Constitutions in the world where the rule of law applies to everyone – employers, labour and the police who may be called upon in difficult circumstances. We would like to assure the nation and international community that law and order has been restored at the Lonmin Mine in Marikana.


The President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr Jacob Zuma has declared a period of national mourning to commemorate the lives of victims of violence • President Jacob Zuma declared a period of national mourning from Monday 20 to Sunday 26 August 2012, to commemorate the lives of all South Africans who have died violently, especially the 44 who were killed in incidents in Marikana, North West province.
• The period of mourning is also for the eight members of the community-based anti-stock theft group called Isikebhe, who were ambushed and killed in Pomeroy near Msinga in KwaZulu-Natal.
• The South African Flag will fly at half-mast at all flag stations in South Africa and missions outside the country, from 20 to 26 of August.
• The President has declared Thursday, 23 August as the official day for memorial services to be held around the country to mourn and promote a violence-free society.
President Jacob Zuma has established an Inter-ministerial Committee to lead and coordinate assistance to the families of all who died in Marikana
• President Jacob Zuma has announced an Inter-Ministerial Committee led by the Minister in the Presidency, Mr Collins Chabane, which will be responsible for leading and coordinating assistance to the families of all who died in Marikana, from the 10th to the 16th of August in separate incidents.
• The Committee will coordinate government support with the notification of family members of those who have died, offer counselling services, planning for burials, transport and any other logistical support required.
• The Committee comprises the following Ministers and Premier;
o North West Premier, Ms Thandi Modise
o Ms Susan Shabangu, Mineral Resources
o Mr Nathi Mthethwa, Police
o Ms Bathabile Dlamini, Social Development
o Mr Richard Baloyi, Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.
o Ms Mildred Oliphant, Labour
o Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Defence and Military Veterans,
o Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, Health
o Dr Siyabonga Cwele, State Security.
o Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Home Affairs.
• The Inter- Ministerial Committee will oversee government intervention and strategies, working with key stakeholders, to restore peace, order and stability at Marikana.
Government calls for all parties to come back to the negotiation table. • South Africa is renowned throughout the world for our capacity for peaceful resolution of disputes. We must at this moment reaffirm our belief in peace, stability and order and in building a caring society free of crime and violence.
• All leaders from all sectors of South African society must act responsibly in a manner that contributes to restoring calm and resolving the Lonmin Mine dispute.
• This is not the time for inflammatory statements and pointing fingers. We must avoid the temptation to engage in the blame game and recrimination.
• All South Africans must work together and unite against incitement of violence from whatever quarter – as we have done in the past.
• We assure the South African people that government is committed to assisting all the parties arrive at a peaceful resolution of the conflict.
President Jacob Zuma has established a Judicial Commission of Enquiry to get to the bottom of the Lonmin incident. • The Judicial Commission of Inquiry will investigate all events that led to the Lonmin Mine incident.
• The Presidency will shortly announce the composition of the Judicial Commission of Enquiry and its terms of reference.